Wilmington Reckless Driving Accident Lawyer

Home » Wilmington » Wilmington Reckless Driving Accident Lawyer

At some point in your life, you may come across a driver in North Carolina exhibiting irresponsible behaviors, such as racing in a busy area. Such recklessness on the roads utterly disregards the safety and wellbeing of other road users and their properties.

These kinds of reckless behaviors happen every day on roads in Wilmington, NC. Behaviors such as tailgating may seem minor but end up causing severe injuries or even death.

If you or someone you care about has been hurt due to a reckless driving accident, you should hire an experienced Wilmington reckless driving accident lawyer to help you fight for the compensation you deserve. At Ted A. Greve & Associates, we are ready to protect your rights, ensuring the reckless driver pays for breaking North Carolina’s traffic laws.

Contact us today to find out if you have a case. We offer free case reviews for all car accident claims in Wilmington, North Carolina.

What Is Reckless Driving?

North Carolina law describes reckless driving as the driving of a vehicle “carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others”.

Reckless driving covers many actions in North Carolina. It is a Class 2 misdemeanor that carries a maximum penalty of $1,000 or up to 60 days in jail for one’s first reckless driving offense.

Drivers in North Carolina are expected to abide by all traffic rules and drive safely while on the roads. This ensures no one gets hurt by the reckless actions of other road users.

How Can Reckless Driving Increase Chances Of An Accident?

There are many instances when reckless driving endangers the safety of everyone on the road. The reckless actions of a driver may cause serious injuries or even fatalities. Here are various driving habits that can increase the chances of road crashes in Wilmington:

Driving & Texting At The Same Time

Texting while driving is never a good idea. It’s reckless and irresponsible since a driver’s attention is on their mobile phone, posing safety threats to other drivers, passengers, and pedestrians.


North Carolina’s maximum speed limit is 70 mph. The speed limit in rural areas is 55 mph and 35 mph in incorporated municipalities. When driving a vehicle in NC, one should always abide by these limits to avoid citations for recklessness.

Road Rage And Aggressive Driving

Road rage occurs when a driver operates their vehicle over aggressively, which puts road users in danger. Actions such as yelling threats while driving, irresponsibly using the car horn, improperly speeding and braking, or chasing other motorists can be considered reckless driving.

If you come into contact with an aggressive driver, employ defensive driving, remain calm, and avoid any confrontations.

Distracted Driving

While driving, a driver’s attention should be solely on the road. Being lost in thought, smoking, talking to passengers, or looking at an accident or billboard are forms of distractions that can result in a reckless driving accident. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that distracted driving claimed 3,142 lives in 2019.


This form of reckless driving happens when a driver drives too close to the vehicle in front of them. If the driver applies emergency brakes, you may ram into them if you are tailgating.

Ignoring Red Lights

All drivers in Wilmington should respect the right of way of other road users. Running a red light amounts to recklessness that may result in a catastrophic accident.

Turning Without Using Turn Signals

Turn signals are crucial since they decrease the chances of accidents. Failing to indicate that you are turning may result in a crash considering the other driver may not be aware of your intention to turn.

The reckless driving accident lawyers at Ted A. Greve & Associates are ready to discuss your reckless driving case if you’ve been involved in a reckless driving accident due to any of the above violations.
Speeding car, concept of Wilmington reckless driving accident lawyer

What Damages Can Victims Get From A Car Accident In Wilmington?

If you’ve been injured in a reckless driving accident in Wilmington, you may be entitled to compensation for damages. Having an experienced Wilmington reckless driving accident lawyer after your crash can help you get maximum compensation for your personal injury claim.

Here are some of the damages you can recover in Wilmington, NC, from a reckless driving car accident:

Income Losses

A car accident may temporarily or permanently put you out of work. You may suffer severe injuries that force you to quit your profession. Catastrophic accidents may leave you bedridden for a long time after your crash. During such scenarios, you may receive compensation to cover your lost income.


Car accidents may cause permanent disfigurement or scarring. You may sustain burn injuries that scar your entire body or have to undergo a limb amputation after an accident. A seasoned Wilmington reckless driving accident lawyer can see to it that you are fairly compensated for your disfigurement.

Property Losses

If you are involved in a reckless driving accident, you may experience property damage to your vehicle. A reckless driver may collide with you, leaving extensive damages to your car. The driver may even ram into your parked car or lose control and bring down your home’s entire wall.

How Can I Prove The Recklessness Of The Other Driver?

At Ted A. Greve & Associates, our attorneys always conduct in-depth investigations to prove liability. Since North Carolina is a pure contributory negligence jurisdiction, our legal team must establish that the defendant was solely responsible for the incident to help you win your Wilmington personal injury case.

Our reckless driving accident lawyers near Wilmington will look into witness testimonies, highway cameras, dashcam footage, and speedometer calibrations to prove the at-fault driver’s negligence. We will also consult accident reconstruction experts to find out what exactly happened at the scene of the accident.

How Long Do I Have To File A Claim In Wilmington, North Carolina?

The statute of limitations for reckless driving accidents in Wilmington is three years. You have three years from the date of your crash to file a personal injury claim. The deadline for property claims in North Carolina is also three years. If you don’t file your claim within this period, you won’t receive any compensation for your damages.

However, if your loved one has been killed by the actions or inactions of a reckless driver, you have two years from the date of death to file a wrongful death claim in Wilmington, NC.

Why Do I Need A Lawyer?

You should always reach out to a seasoned lawyer if you have been involved in an accident. At Ted A. Greve & Associates, our legal team can handle all aspects of your claim and offer you sound legal counsel throughout your case. Here are some of the benefits of hiring our reputable personal injury law firm in Wilmington:

Case Preparation

A lawyer can help you with your case as you focus on your recovery. Recovering and following up on your case can wear you out, especially if you are seriously hurt.

Ted A. Greve & Associates will gather and analyze evidence to build an airtight case. We will look into police and medical reports and consult doctors to get insights into your physical and mental state. Once we are done, we will file your personal injury claim.

Settlement Negotiation

The main objective of insurance companies is to limit or deny payouts after accidents. They’ll look for any reason to limit the amount of compensation you receive. Remember, you won’t receive any compensation in North Carolina if your fault is even one percent.

Our Wilmington reckless driving accident attorneys will handle all talks to ensure you don’t make any statements that jeopardize your claim. We will negotiate the best settlement, representing your best interests throughout this stage.

Representing You At Trial

Ted A. Greve & Associates is also prepared to go to trial if no amicable offer is arrived at.

How Much Does A Car Accident Lawyer Cost?

When contacting Ted A. Greve & Associates regarding your personal injury claim, you never have to worry about any upfront fees. We operate on a contingency fee basis when handling reckless driving accident claims in Wilmington, NC. Our law firm will handle all costs involved with your case and will only recover a percentage of your final compensation as part of our payment. We only get paid if we win your case.

Call Our Wilmington Reckless Driving Accident Lawyers Today

An accident can completely change your entire life. It may leave you with permanent injuries and unanticipated financial burdens. If you or someone you care about has been hurt by the actions of a reckless driver, it’s advisable to speak to a Wilmington reckless driving accident lawyer immediately.

At Ted A. Greve & Associates, our attorneys will advise you regarding your legal rights and options. We will look into the facts of your case and advise you accordingly. Call us today to find out if you have a case. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!