Cars are considered to be a reliable means of transportation. However, they are also known to cause a lot of damage and even loss of lives as a result of accidents. Even though certain safety measures have been put in place to reduce the number of casualties, some car accident cases are unavoidable especially those that are caused by drunk or reckless drivers.
The state of South Carolina does not condone such action and the law allows victims involved in a car accident to seek compensation for their damages by filing a personal injury claim. If you live in Aiken, SC, and have been involved in a car accident, contact Ted A. Greve & Associates and we will review your case for free. Our Aiken car accident lawyers can help you recover the maximum compensation.
Table of Contents
Car Accident Statistics Aiken, South Carolina
According to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety, South Carolina has the highest number of car accident accidents. The report stated that at least 1 drunk is involved in a car wreck every 28 hours while a passenger loses his or her life after every 27.5 in an auto accident and one pedestrian is killed after every 2 or 3 days as a result of a car crash.
How Much Does an Aiken Car Accident Lawyer Cost?
Ted A. Greve & Associates, we understand the stress that comes with dealing with a car accident, especially if you have sustained severe injuries. That is why we do not charge upfront fees for hiring legal services. Instead, we work on a contingency fee arrangement. This means we receive a percentage of the compensation your receive. If we don’t win your case, you owe us nothing.
What Should I Do After a Car Accident?
A car accident is a stressful and scary experience. It’s important to follow these steps:
If you live in Aiken, SC, and have been involved in a car accident, the first thing that you should do is contact the police. This is a legal requirement. Therefore, use your cellphone to contact the police. Once you contact the police, the police will gather all the necessary information including your location, and do their best to get to the scene as quickly as possible.
Check on Other Involved Parties
After contacting the police, do not leave. Check on other involved parties and find out whether they need help or not. If someone is stuck, try to free them but do it slowly and with caution so that you do not make the situation any worse. If you cannot free anyone, call for help but make sure that you do not leave the other victims behind.
Another way you can help other parties who are involved in the car accident is by calling an ambulance for those who sustain severe injuries. You can also assist those who sustain deep cuts by applying pressure on their wounds using a clean piece of clothing to stop the bleeding.
Exchanging info is a legal requirement so make sure that you do not fail to do this. It does not matter whether you are to blame for the accident or not. The law requires all parties involved in the auto accident to exchange their info which includes, names, contact details, insurance information, and license plate number of the cars involved in the accident.
Record the Scene
If another party is responsible for causing the accident, make sure that you record the scene or take photos so that you can have proof of your claim. You can also use recorded footage and photos as evidence when you file a personal injury claim with the help of a personal injury lawyer. Also make sure that you capture key detail such as damage on all vehicles, the crash site, and any traffic signals or signs that are surrounding or near the car accident.
Never Admit Fault
It does not matter how many people try to convince you that you are responsible for the car accident, what is important is that never admit fault. That is because admitting fault can complicate your case even if you are not the only one who contributed to the car accident that took place. You will end up paying for all the damages incurred by everyone who was involved in the car accident.
Seek Medical Attention
Your health and safety come first. That is why you should seek medical attention right away if you have sustained serious injuries. Moreover, it is still advisable that you book an appointment with your doctor even if you feel okay since some injuries are not easily detected such as internal injuries.
Call a Car Accident Lawyer
If someone else is to blame for the car accident, call us at Ted A. Greve & Associates and we will help you take legal action against the defendant. Contacting us as soon as possible is vital so that we can start working on your case. Furthermore, besides getting your case reviewed for free, we will also advise you on what you can do to help build a strong case.
What is the Average Settlement For a Car Accident?
Every car accident case is different. Various factors are used to determine the settlement. These factors include both current and future medical expenses lost wages as well as pain and suffering.
When Should I Get a Lawyer For My Auto Accident?
After being involved in a car accident, many victims wait until they have fully recovered to seek legal help. But, at Ted A. Greve & Associates we always advise clients to contact us immediately. That is because a personal injury lawyer can assist you in a lot of areas including writing your report or negotiating with other parties.
Why Do I Need an Aiken Car Accident Lawyer?
Hiring a personal injury lawyer comes with a lot of benefits such as protect your interests and make sure that you get a fair settlement. Furthermore, a personal injury lawyer will also help you determine how much your injury claim is worth. Below are other benefits of hiring a personal injury lawyer:
- Investigate the crash to find new evidence and also determine the party at fault.
- Find potential witnesses and gather relevant information that can be used to strengthen your case.
- File your injury claim even if you are still recovering.
- Handle court proceedings and make protect your interests
- Negotiate for a fair settlement with the insurance carriers for injuries sustained and damaged property.
- Represent you in court if a settlement isn’t reached.
How Much Can I Expect to Receive For My Damages?
At Ted A. Greve & Associates we always do our best to make sure that clients are fully compensated for their damages and injuries. Therefore, as a victim, you can expect to receive more or less based on the severity of your injuries.
What Type of Damages Can I Recover in Aiken, SC?
Courts may award car accident victims three types of damages:
- Economic Damages: Economic damages involve compensation for financial loss such as medical expenses, damaged property, and even lost income.
- Non-Economic Damages: Non-economic damages cover losses that cannot be measured with a dollar value such as pain and suffering and even paralysis.
- Punitive Damages: Punitive damages are given to the plaintiff to discourage the wrongdoer and others from reckless or negligent behavior. They are only awarded if the responsible party’s actions were reckless or willful.
While South Carolina limits punitive damages to three times the compensatory damage award or $500,000, but there are exceptions. One exception is if the at-fault party’s judgment was impaired by alcohol or drugs.
How is Fault Determined in a Car Accident in South Carolina?
In Aiken, South Carolina, a fault-based policy is used to determine the liable party in a car accident. Therefore, that means the at-fault party is required to pay for any damaged property and injuries sustained by the victims in a car accident.
In a car accident lawsuit, your attorney must prove the at-fault driver was negligent in order to recover compensation for you.
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in SC?
According to the state’s statute of limitations, car accident victims are required to file their injury claims within three years.
How Can a Lawyer Help Me File My Insurance Claim?
Filing an insurance claim is not easy especially if it is your first time. At Ted A. Greve & Associates we will prepare a demand letter for your claim and send it to the insurance company. After sending the demand letter, our lawyer will wait for at least thirty days before taking the matter to trial.
What Can I Do if Insurance Denied My Claim?
If the insurance company denies you your claim after submitting the demand letter, contact us at Ted A. Greve & Associates and we will prepare the case for trial.
What if the Other Driver Does Not Have Insurance?
In South Carolina, all drivers are required to have insurance or face heavy penalties. Therefore, if the other driver is not insured, he or she will be required to apply for insurance within 20 days failure to which his or her DMV will be suspended.
How Can I Obtain an Accident Report in Aiken, SC?
You can obtain an accident report by filing an accident report form TR-310. After filling in this particular form, submit it to the South Carolina Department of Motor vehicles.
Common Car Accident Injuries
Some of the most common injuries from car accidents include:
- Neck injuries
- Back injuries
- Internal injuries
- Head injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Facial disfigurement
Types of Car Accidents We Handle
At Ted A. Greve & Associates, we handle the following types of car accidents:
- Distracted driving accidents
- Drunk driving accidents
- Head-on collision
- Hit & run accidents
- Motorcycle accident
- Pedestrian accident
- Rear-end collision
- Reckless driving
- Rollover accidents
- Truck accidents
- Uber accidents
- Uninsured motorist accidents
- Wrongful death
Contact Our Aiken Car Accident Lawyers Today
It isn’t fair for you to pay medical bills and car repairs if someone else caused your car accident and injuries. At Ted A. Greve & Associates we have helped thousands of clients with their cases and made sure that they receive fair compensation. We charge no upfront fees. In fact, you pay nothing unless we win your case.
Therefore, contact us by calling (844) 387-8677 today for a free case review.